Norton Internet Security logo

Change the trust level for your network and devices

Jun 10, 2010

The trust level determines the default level of access that devices on your network have to your computer. Any device on your network that is not explicitly Trusted or Restricted uses the trust level of your network. The initial network trust level is set based on the configuration of your computer.


Note:

Ensure that you change the trust level of a device to Full Trust, if it is a known device, and is connected to your network.
The following conditions are necessary for the trust level of a device to be Shared:
  • The computer should not have a public IP address.

    Your computer does not have a public IP address if it is not directly connected to the Internet.
  • The computer should be connected to a LAN through a secure connection.
  • The network category should be private in Windows Vista.
In addition, the trust level of a device is Shared in any of the following cases:
  • When the computer on the network has one or more folders or printers that are shared
  • When the computer is Media Center compatible (for example, if you have Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows Vista Home Premium, Windows Vista Ultimate, or Windows 7)

Note:

If you use a wireless network that is not secure, the default trust level of all the devices that are on the network is Protected.
The trust level of a device also depends on the trust level of its network. When you change the trust level of a network, Norton Internet Security assigns the same trust level to all the devices that are connected to that network. However, Norton Internet Security does not change the trust level of the devices that you individually trust or restrict.

You can modify these settings if you want to change the trust level for the following:
To change the trust level for your network
  1. In the Norton Internet Security main window, in the Network pane, click Network Security Map.
  2. On the left side of the Network Security Map window, next to Network Details, click Edit.
  3. In the Edit Network Details window, next to Trust Level, click Edit.

    You can view the details of the network in the Edit Network Details dialog box before you change the trust level.
  4. To select a trust level for a network, in the Edit Network Trust Level window, click one of the following:
    FULL TRUST Adds the network to the Trusted list

    All traffic that your computer receives from a Trusted network is filtered and allowed through firewall. However, known attacks and infections are still monitored. You should select this setting only when you are sure that the network is completely safe.
    SHARED Adds the network to the Shared list

    All traffic that your computer receives from a Shared network is filtered. Only shared resources on your computer, such as files, folders, and printers are allowed. You should select this setting if you want the firewall to protect you from all traffic except those that pertain to file and printer sharing.
    PROTECTED Adds the network to the Protected list

    A network is in the Protected Trust Level when it has not been classified as Trusted, Shared, or Restricted. You remain protected from known attacks and all unexpected traffic.
    RESTRICTED Adds the network to the Restricted list

    The devices that are on Restricted network cannot communicate with your computer. However, you can still use the network to browse Web sites, send email messages, or transmit other communications.
  5. Click OK.
To change the trust level for a device
  1. In the Norton Internet Security main window, in the Network pane, click Network Security Map.
  2. In the Network Security Map window, do one of the following:
    • To edit the trust level of a device that is on your network, in the Network Map, click the device.
    • To edit the trust level of a device that you manually added, in the Network Details drop-down list, click Trust Control, and then click the device.
  3. In the device details area, next to Trust Level, click Edit.
  4. To select a trust level for a device, in the Edit Device Trust Level window, click one of the following:
    FULL TRUST Adds a device to the Full Trust list

    Full Trust devices are monitored only for known attacks and infections. You should select this setting only when you are sure that the device is completely safe.
    RESTRICTED Adds a device to the Restricted list

    Restricted devices do not have access to your computer.
    USE NETWORK TRUST (trust level) Adds a device to a default trust level

    The devices that are removed from the Full Trust level or Restricted trust level take the default trust level of the network. The trust level of the network can be Full Trust, Restricted, Protected, or Shared.
  5. Click OK.

    Norton Internet Security displays the trust level status of each restricted device on the icon of the device.

0 comments: (+add yours?)

Post a Comment